How to Learn Freestyle Swimming?


It has 18 days since been I joined a swimming course on August 6, 2009. It has been a great experience till date. Based on my learning experience so far, I have come up with an algorithm that can be followed to learn swimming. The view and the method presented below is purely based on my personal opinion and experience. It does not comply to any standards. Please read the disclaimer section at the end of this post for further clarification.

Step 1: Practice holding your breath and learn to float in Water.

  • Anything that has air trapped inside can float. A cork floats in water since it has air trapped in it. Similarly, humans can float if they hold their breath.
  • The trainer should illustrate a simple demonstration of the face-down float and float by wrapping the arms around the knees and holding the breath for five seconds.
  • Demonstration of the “dead man’s float” with the arms out like an airplane and the face down in the water can be an added advantage.
  • The learner is expected to imitate the trainer after the demonstrations.

Example of the dead mans float method

Example of the dead man's float method (Image source: P.Gordon's photostream on Flickr)

Another image illustrating the dead mans float (Image source: garlinggauge.com)

Another image illustrating the dead man's float (Image source: garlinggauge.com)

Please note, the learner should never be left unattended at the swimming pool.

The video listed below by Peter Elizondo provides an elaborated view of step 1.

Step 2: Learn to Flutter kick.

The below listed points were borrowed from How to Flutter Kick post on WikiHow.

  1. Hold onto a wall or a kickboard. You may also just kick in streamline position without holding onto anything.
  2. Point your toes.
  3. Hold your breath and put your head in the water.
  4. Move your legs up and down about 3 or 4 inches. Do this quickly for as long as you can without bending your knees.
  5. Lift your head up to breathe and resume kicking. But, if you are kicking in streamline position, do not pick your head up. Rotate your body so your head faces up, breathe, and then rotate so you are facing the bottom of the pool.

Please note:

  • Don’t kick too high or most of the kick will be wasted in the air, not propelling you forward.
  • Holding your breath too long may result in shallow water blackout.
  • By lifting your head to breathe you might cause your body to drift down.

Staged by principal author of Shallow Water Bl...

Example of 'Shallow Water Blackout' (Image via Wikipedia)

The videos listed below created by Peter Elizondo illustrates step 2 in depth.

Step 3: Learn to Flutter kick with the head immersed in water.

Step 4: Learn how to use your hands in freestyle swimming.

Step 5: Learn how to pull your body in freestyle swimming.

Step 6: Learn the breathing technique for freestyle swimming.

Disclaimer

All data and information provided on this site is for informational purposes only. sks8.wordpress.com and skumar.co.nr makes no representations as to accuracy, completeness, currentness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site and will not be liable for any errors, omissions, or delays in this information or any losses, injuries, or damages arising from its display or use. All information is provided on an as-is basis. The trademarks, if at all used on this blog belong to their respective owners.

Note

The information presented here is collected from several sources. None of the video links posted on this blog are stored on the server that hosts this blog. They are linked to their respective YouTube.com links.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sks8.wordpress.com/2009/08/23/how-to-learn-swimming/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good success. If you know of
    any please share. Thanks!

  2. I visit everyday some web sites and websites to read posts,
    however this blog provides quality based posts.

  3. I used to be able to find good information from your
    blog posts.

  4. Try to recognize it when you are viewing a situation in extremes and
    choose to moderate your view. We can form mental
    representations: thoughts about things we can’t currently see or touch. The first (and most important) thing about it is that it is, in many cases, ineffective.

  5. Your current post provides established useful to
    myself. It’s really helpful and you really are obviously very knowledgeable in
    this area. You have got popped my own eyes to various opinion
    of this specific topic with intriquing, notable and solid articles.

  6. This is a relatively easy dish to make, especially if
    you have the base sauce made ahead of time.
    After the feasts, the plates would have absorbed the gravy or sauces and remnants of the feast would be embedded into the soft dough.
    Try just a little experimenting and come up with some HCG recipes all by
    yourself.

  7. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He used to be totally right.
    This publish truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how so much time I
    had spent for this info! Thanks!

  8. I think what you wrote was actually very logical. But, what about this?

    what if you added a little content? I am not saying your content isn’t good, however what if you added a title that makes people want more? I mean How to Learn Freestyle Swimming? | My Experiments in Life! is kinda plain. You should look at Yahoo’s front page
    and see how they write article headlines to grab
    people interested. You might add a video or a pic or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might make your posts a little bit more interesting.

  9. Hurrah, that’s what I was exploring for, what a stuff! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this web page.

  10. Hello all, here every person is sharing these know-how, therefore it’s pleasant to read this webpage, and I used to pay a
    visit this weblog daily.

  11. Hi there superb website! Does running a blog similar to this
    take a lot of work? I’ve no expertise in computer
    programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off topic however I simply had to ask.
    Kudos!

  12. What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge concerning unpredicted emotions.

  13. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your website.
    It appears as though some of the written text in your content
    are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment
    and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This might be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Cheers. buying twitter followers Most affordable Prices Very best Assistance.

    twitter followers supplies good quality social expert services.

    Consumers may buy twitter followers by many cost-effective solutions.

  14. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire
    out a designer to create your theme? Great work!

  15. Hi Dear, are you really visiting this web site regularly, if so after that you will without doubt obtain nice
    experience.

  16. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seekinng
    more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your site in my social
    networks!

  17. Hi there, I believe your blog may be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari, it
    looks fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, great
    site!

  18. Generally I don’t read article on blogs, but I
    wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks,
    quite nice article.

  19. Hello! I’ve been reading your weblog for a while now and finally
    got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas!

    Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

  20. I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content available for you?

    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write concerning here.
    Again, awesome blog!

  21. Good day! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for the great
    info you have got right here on this post. I’ll be returning to your web site for more soon.

  22. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me
    to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thanks, quite nice article.

  23. Hey there I amm so delighted I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am
    here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post
    and a all round exciting blogg (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the
    moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to rwad
    more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  24. I visited multiple web рages howeever the audio feature for
    audio songs ρresent ɑt this site іs actuhally wonderful.

  25. This iѕ my first time pay ɑ quick visit aat
    herfe ɑnd і am actually pleassant tto read ɑll at single рlace.


Leave a Reply

